Categories
Uncategorised

Hello Beautiful People ♡

Here is my third video for all you beautiful people. To say I have learnt a lot through this video making journey would be an understatement, but I am so proud of how far I have come and how this latest video came together. 

I am definitely one happy girl! 

I don’t have it down pat, but I don’t think anyone really does. 

Whilst preparing this latest video, I was actually travelling overseas and thought that the topic of technology, reality, and immersion would be so interesting to look at. I really centred in on how social media and its rapid enhancements are literal changing life as we know it before our eyes.

When I began thinking about this topic, my mind was flooded with millions of ideas on how I could communicate and create a video on this.

I started researching on Google and came across a huge number of scholarly articles, as well as, personal blog post on this topic.

I decided to include some of this information in my video and obviously my content was in some way shaped by what I read.

Yes, I was one of those people who read that by following certain companies and people on Instagram you could unlock AR filters, so I instantly had to try it and include it in my video.

From the beginning, when I was early in the planning phase, I really wanted this video to be fun.  

So, here are a few strategies I used in this video:

Planning: I started very early this time! If I can stress anything to you, it is that planning is key when it comes to video making. I had an idea in my mind of how I wanted this video to turn out, so I wrote it down on a piece of paper – the old-fashioned way. Obviously, I had to tweak parts and take things out, but this plan saved my sanity!

Audio Overlay: I really played around with this and got creative. I didn’t want this video to be a replica of my others. I decided to use voice narration, music I had created on GarageBand, and video of myself talking. Like last time, I couldn’t find creative commons music that represented me, so I made my own. However, I got creative and overlaid this music with voice narration. I wanted the Bitmoji section of my video to be fun. I originally did the Bitmoji section with just voice narration but quickly realised it needed something more, and so I overlaid music created on GarageBand.

Audience Engagement: This was something that I really wanted to improve on. So, I thought of ways to really make the video ‘easy viewing material’. I decided to create a Bitmoji and incorporate this into the video. I even created a fun intro with voice narration and the Bitmoji together. This was to really make the video different! I also decided to include a ‘real reel’. The point of this was to include something that was authentic, something that the audience could identify with and relate to.

While these strategies helped to create the latest video, I still encountered challenges.

I feel as though the biggest challenged I faced was time. As I was travelling, I had to get creative and use what I had available. I was frustrated that I wasn’t at home and didn’t have the greatest technology at my fingertips, but I decided that I would use it to my advantage. I changed my plan and decided to focus my video more around social media. I was already using it every day while overseas and therefore, iPhone images are overlaid throughout my video.

Another challenge I found was that I began recording my video while standing. This was a terrible idea! I kept moving about and it was extremely distracting. So, I improvised, I got a bar stool from our kitchen and moved it into our office. Problem solved!!

Lastly, this wasn’t necessarily a challenge but something I felt I needed to change. As I put the finishing touches on my video, I felt as though it didn’t authentically depict the hard work that goes into video making. Here I am talking about how technology changes reality, and I am not being real. My video was heavily edited, with all the cringy parts taken out. In this moment of thought, I decided to add a ‘real reel’ at the end of my video, to give it an authentic angle. To really show what everyone goes through when talking to a camera – the cringy silences and forgetfulness.

I am so proud of this video and hope you enjoy watching it!

  • M

References

Sources

  • Bulearca, M & Tamarjan, D 2010, ‘Augmented Reality: A Sustainable Marketing Tool?’, Global Business and Management Research: An International Journal, vol. 2, no. 2&3, Universal-Publishers, Florida, pp. 237-252
  • Woolgar, S 2009, ‘Five Rule of Virtuality’, Virtual Society?, Oxford University Press, New York, pp. 1-22
  • Taylor, J 2011, ‘Technology: Virtual vs. Real Life: You Choose’, Psychology Today, retrieved 17 September 2019, <www.psychologytoday.com>
  • Eyck, C 2018, ‘Quitting Instagram taught me how to truly experience and document my life again’, Quartz, retrieved 17 September 2019, <www.qz.com>

Images

  • ‘Aeroplane’, taken by Madeleine Middlebrook, on 25 September 2019
  • ‘Venice Sign’, taken by Madeleine Middlebrook, on 13 September 2019
  • ‘Hollywood’, taken by Daniel Lauridsen for Madeleine Middlebrook, on 12 September 2019
  • ‘Colorado’, taken by Daniel Lauridsen for Madeleine Middlebrook, on 23 September 2019
  • ‘Breckenridge’, taken by Madeleine Middlebrook, on 23 September 2019
  • ‘Virtual Reality Breckenridge’, taken by Madeleine Middlebrook, on 23 September 2019
  • ‘Selfie’, taken by Madeleine Middlebrook, on 27 September 2019
  • ‘Instagram Filter’, taken by Madeleine Middlebrook on Instagram, 27 September 2019

Music

Leave a comment